top of page
anthon st. maarten chakra energy system.

The Chakra System


The chakras are the energy centers or conduits through which the life energy of the Conscious Universe flows into and out of our aura, or etheric light body. The same Universal Life Force that flows through all the plant and animal kingdom also flows through you via the chakra system.

The chakras have three functions, namely being receptors, storage points and transmitters of energy. Becoming familiar with your chakras is one of the most powerful ways in which you can raise your spiritual awareness and access different levels of consciousness. The chakra system may seem simplistic on a rational level, but through meditation one can experience it more fully in its deeper, intuitive dimension, and discover an amazing map to your inner world.

The word chakra means ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’, because these energy centers are likened to rotating vortexes or spinning spheres located along our spinal column at major branching points of the human nervous system, known as the ganglia. The seven primary chakras are essentially ‘stacked’ like a tower to form a column or pathway of energy beginning at the base of the spinal column and moving up to the crown of your head.

​Through these invisible spinning funnels, Universal Energy is received, assimilated and expressed as the Life Force. Each chakra correlates with a fundamental state of consciousness and spiritual awareness.

The chakra energy system is an aspect of our spiritual 'light body' which communicates with our material body via its biological systems, such as the endocrine glands and nervous system, to keep us metaphysically balanced and physically healthy. The chakra system is organized in accordance with the human nervous system, and the different chakra points correlate with the location of the major glands in the human endocrine system.

Each of the seven major chakras also resonates with its own vibrational frequency for which there are tonal sound correlates. Interestingly, all music in the physical world, at its most fundamental level, consists of only seven notes. Each of the seven primary chakras correspond to these seven basic notes on the musical scale, namely the keys of C, D, E, F, G, A and B. The seven chakras also correlate with the seven colors found in a rainbow, or the primary color spectrum which can be obtained using a glass prism, namely red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.  The ancients believed there to be a connection between the seven rainbow colors, the basic musical notes, the planets in our Solar System, and the days of the week.

chakra system chart.jpg

Chakra Activation & Balancing


The chakras operate like spinning energy vortexes, which may begin to 'malfunction' or become unbalanced due to various physical, mental, spiritual and environmental influences, stressors and life traumas. Unbalanced chakras need to be re-calibrated, similar to the wheels on a car when they become unstable and begin to wobble.  ​Energy flow to and from the chakras can also become congested or restricted, similar to a blocked drain in the bathroom. Chakra activation and balancing is the process of re-stabilizing and restoring harmonious and efficient energy flow to the energy centers.

​A variety of spiritual practices and holistic methodologies can be used to successfully activate and balance the chakras, including therapeutic massage, meditation, yoga, reiki, craniosacral therapy, pranic healing, breath work, aromatherapy, crystal healing, color therapy and nutrition. Guided meditation featuring breathing exercises, mindful relaxation techniques, visualizations, affirmations and customized music composed in the appropriate key for each chakra, is one of the most popular and powerful techniques to heal and balance the chakras.

new chakras activation.jpg

Signs & Symptoms Of Chakra Imbalances


Each chakra is associated with a specific area of the body and linked to a component of the endocrine system. The manifestation of certain physical and psychological symptoms linked to a certain area, may indicate an imbalance or blockage in the energy flow of that particular chakra.


We are often not aware of a chakra imbalance, until the body suddenly makes us aware by presenting these symptoms. These symptoms are the chakra's emergency 'warning system' to make us aware of an energy flow obstruction, or imbalances caused by unwanted underlying mind-body-spirit issues or difficulties. It is therefore spirit's way of demanding our attention, in order to address and correct theses hidden or latent physical, mental, emotional and /or spiritual problems for our own well-being and highest good. 


Meditation as a spiritual practice is essential for your spiritual development and increased alignment with the Divine Self. Discover the practical benefits of a daily meditation practice.


Learn to meditate the easy way with the Divine Living Today Guided Meditation series. Download or stream some of my guided meditations and get your practice started today.

bottom of page